A journey into the past

The old centre of Gräfrath consists of narrow alleyways, slate-clad half-timbered Bergisch houses, an idyllic market square surrounded by lovingly restored buildings, and an impressive monastery church throned high above tiny slate-fronted houses.

In a region radically transformed by industrialisation Gräfrath provides visitors with an almost hermetic image of a Bergisch hamlet from the preindustrial period and the late Baroque and Biedermeier era: a unique historic and architectural monument. The core of the suburb has around 120 listed buildings and the whole area stands under an official protection order.

The visible symbol of Gräfrath is the monastery church of the Assumption of St. Mary with its octagonal turret ridge and tower-like cupola attachment, the “lantern”. It is the oldest building in the suburb and was constructed around 1195 as a Romanic pillar basilica by the Gräfrath Sisters of the Canonesses of St Augustine. In the following years the church was enlarged and radically changed. It owes its present Baroque design to fires in 1686 and 1717. 

Are you looking for a restaurant, a bistro, a café, a beer garden or an ice cream shop? Visitors wanting to spend a few pleasant hours in the beautiful atmosphere in and around the romantic market square can find specialities to suit everyone’s taste.

 

Search